Carriers, Broadcasters to Begin Reports to FCC on Tropical Storm Dorian Today


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The FCC has activated its Disaster Information Reporting System (DIRS) for Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands in response to Tropical Storm Dorian. Wireless and wireline carriers, broadcast stations, cable systems and Voice over Internet Protocol providers use DIRS on a voluntary basis to report communications infrastructure status during a crisis.

The Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau is asking carriers, broadcasters and other providers to begin submitting Dorian-related information today, August 29, by 10 a.m. Eastern. 

The bureau seeks information on equipment status, restoration efforts, and power, such as whether providers are using commercial power or back-up power. Continue Reading  

All municipalities of Puerto Rico are involved in this activation, including: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguadilla, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Anasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamon, Cabo Rojo, Caguas, Camuy, Canovanas, Carolina, Catano, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Culebra, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guanica, Guayama, Guayanilla, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Hatillo, Hormigueros, Humacao, Isabela, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Juncos, Lajas, Lares, Las Marias, Las Piedras, Loiza, Luquillo, Manati, Maricao, Maunabo, Mayaguez, Moca, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Penuelas, Ponce, Quebradillas, Rincon, Rio Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San German, San Juan, San Lorenzo, San Sebastian, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco.

All counties in the U.S. Virgin Islands are subject to DIRS reporting, including: St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas.

August 29, 2019   

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.