FCC Activates DIRS For Hurricane Delta Across Four Gulf Coast States


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau (PSHSB) of the Federal Communications Commission (Commission), in coordination with Department of Homeland Security Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency, has announced the activation of the Disaster Information Reporting System (DIRS) in response to Hurricane Delta. DIRS is a voluntary, web-based system that communications providers, including wireless, wireline, broadcast, cable and Voice over Internet Protocol providers, and satellite providers can use to report communications infrastructure status and situational awareness information during times of crisis.

The Commission requests that communications providers that provide service to any areas listed below expeditiously submit and update information through DIRS regarding, inter alia, the status of their communications equipment, restoration efforts, and power (i.e., whether they are using commercial power or back-up power). Communications providers can accomplish this by accessing DIRS here. Providers that have not previously done so will be asked to first provide contact information and obtain a User ID when they access DIRS. There is a link on the login page that will allow them to obtain the User ID and password. If a user does not remember his/her password, he/she should use the forgotten password link on the login page. If any user has any problems accessing DIRS, please contact any of the numbers listed below.

In DIRS, this activation will have the following name: HURRICANE DELTA. Communications providers are reminded that for providers that participate in DIRS, the separate Network Outage Reporting System (NORS) obligations are suspended for the duration of the DIRS activation with respect to outages in the counties where DIRS has been activated. Reports are requested at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, October 10, 2020, and every day after that by 10:00 a.m. until DIRS is deactivated.

Communications providers that serve an area listed below and that have already provided contact information in DIRS will be sent an e-mail requesting that they provide the above-referenced status information through DIRS. For any communications providers that have not already logged onto DIRS to input their contact information, the Commission encourages them to do so as soon as possible.


Alabama: Baldwin, Mobile

Louisiana: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, De Soto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, La Salle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana, Winn

Mississippi: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Issaquena, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, Sharkey, Simpson, Walthall, Warren, Wilkinson, Wilkinson, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River, Stone, Lamar

Texas: Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Tyler

For further information, please contact:

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.