FCC Activates DIRS for Laura


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Two tropical storms threatened the Gulf of Mexico Friday. The FCC activated its Disaster Information Reporting System (DIRS) to the largest one.

Tropical Storm Laura formed on Friday, the latest named storm of the Atlantic hurricane season. Laura is expected to make its way north by going over Puerto Rico and Hispaniola, Dennis Feltgen, a meteorologist with the National Hurricane Center, told The New York Times. Another storm, Tropical Depression 14, was headed toward the Gulf of Mexico.

Both storms could become active hurricanes in the Gulf of Mexico as early as Monday, according to the National Hurricane Center. Tropical Depression 14 is forecast to eventually affect Houston, New Orleans and other places along the northern side of the Gulf of Mexico.  

The Commission asks communications providers that provide service to any areas listed below submit and update information through DIRS regarding the status of their communications equipment, restoration efforts, and power, such as whether they are using commercial power or back-up power. Communications providers can access DIRS here

Reports were requested by 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, August 22. Counties of interest for this activation include all the counties in Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands:

Puerto Rico: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguadilla, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Anasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barceloneta, Barranquitas, Bayamon, Cabo Rojo, Caguas, Camuy, Canovanas, Carolina, Catano, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Culebra, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guanica, Guayama, Guayanilla, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Hatillo, Hormigueros, Humacao, Isabela, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Juncos, Lajas, Lares, Las Marias, Las Piedras, Loiza, Luquillo, Manati, Maricao, Maunabo, Mayaguez, Moca, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Penuelas, Ponce, Quebradillas, Rincon, Rio Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San German, San Juan, San Lorenzo, San Sebastian, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco

Virgin Islands: St. Croix, St. John, St. Thomas

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.