Pallone Welcomes Five New Dems to the Energy and Commerce Committee


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

House Energy and Commerce Chairman Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) Friday welcomed five new Democratic members of Congress to the committee. They are: Representatives Angie Craig (D-MN), Lizzie Fletcher (D-TX), Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Kim Schrier (D-WA), and Lori Trahan (D-MA).  

“Our nation faces unprecedented challenges, and I have no doubt these five outstanding members will provide invaluable contributions to the Committee from day one. I look forward to having these five members join us in the 117th Congress,” said Pallone. In the coming months, Pallone said, the committee will push an “aggressive agenda,” to ensure the Biden Administration “has all the resources it needs to crush this pandemic, rebuild and modernize our nation’s infrastructure, and protect people’s privacy.” 

The Energy and Commerce Committee is the oldest continuous standing committee in the U.S. House of Representatives. It was established in 1795 to regulate interstate and foreign commerce. Today, the committee has the broadest jurisdiction of any authorizing committee in Congress. In addition to electronic communications and the internet, it legislates on privacy, cybersecurity and data security; consumer protection and product safety; national energy policy; nuclear facilities; interstate and foreign commerce; and other areas.

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.