U.K. Attempts 5G Alliance With Ten Countries to Phase Out Huawei 5G Tech


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The United Kingdom is looking to align with ten democratic nations to create 5G equipment and technologies to avoid reliance on China, specifically Huawei, reported The Times. The alliance, dubbed D10, would include India, Australia, and South Korea, in addition to G7 countries, France, Canada, Germany, Japan, Italy, the U.S., and the U.K.

Earlier this year, U.K. Prime Minister Boris Johnson granted Huawei a limited role in supplying equipment for 5G network builds, reported The Times. Since mid-May, Johnson has been under pressure to block Huawei with Conservative party members demanding that the telecom’s equipment not be part of the U.K.’s 5G network beyond 2023.

Now, the U.K. is enacting a plan to phase Huawei equipment out over the next three years by partnering with other nations. When approaching the U.S. government regarding the D10 initiative, U.K. officials said they want to make sure “new entrants belong to like-minded democratic regimes, thus alleviating any security concerns.”

Inside Towers reported the U.S. already banned China’s state-owned Huawei from supplying equipment and technology for 5G networks due to security concerns. In early May, the U.S. government announced its plan to impose stricter sanctions on Huawei come September. According to The Times, this news urged the U.K’s National Cyber Security Centre to launch an emergency review into how this would affect the tech giant’s ability to supply 5G technology to its nation.

Huawei denies allegations made by the U.S. and other countries. The Chinese tech company said the U.S. ban would “damage the trust and collaboration within the global semiconductor industry.”

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.