These States Regulate Pole Attachments


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The state of Florida recently certified to the FCC that it implemented its regulatory authority over pole attachments. The Commission said certification by a state preempts the FCC from accepting pole attachment complaints.

The FCC compiles and occasionally publishes a list of states that have provided certification. This list supersedes the last one published by the Wireline Competition Bureau in 2020.  

The following states have certified that they regulate the rates, terms, and conditions for pole attachments in their state: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and West Virginia. 

By Leslie Stimson, Inside Towers Washington Bureau Chief

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.