The 2016 Wireless Hall of Fame Honorees Are…


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Six industry participants have been inducted into the Wireless Hall of Fame. The non-profit Wireless History Foundation hosted the September 6, event in Las Vegas.

The honorees “represent the startup, the growth and the future of the wireless industry,” said WHF board member Rob Mechaley, CEO of MobileSphere Holdings; he’s also chair of the 2016 selection committee. The honorees were introduced by colleagues instrumental in their careers, then featured in an awards presentation sharing video highlights of their achievements.

The 2016 honorees are:
  • Industry Associate Category – FJ Pollak (posthumously) of TracFone, introduced by Marcelo Claure, CEO of Sprint
  • Technology Category – Joel Engel, Richard Frenkiel and Philip Porter (posthumously), all formerly of Bell Laboratories, introduced by Hall of Fame member Dale Hatfield of the University of Colorado
  • Pioneer Category – Richard Sherwin of Spot On Networks, introduced by Hall of Fame member Wayne Perry, CEO of Shotgun Investments
  • Service Provider Category – Ralph de la Vega of AT&T Inc., introduced by Randall Stephenson, Chairman and CEO of AT&T


The 2016 Wireless Hall of Fame event sponsors are:
  • Bandwidth Level: AT&T, Eagle River, and Verizon
  • Spectrum Level: Assurant Solutions, CTIA, NextNav, Nokia, Qualcomm, and Trilogy Partnership
  • Frequencies Level: Asurion, BlackBerry, BlueWater Wireless, Dyna LLC, Ericsson, Mosaik Solutions, Samsung, Spot On Networks, Sprint, Syniverse, T-Mobile, TracFone, Vertical Bridge, Vodafone Americas Foundation, Wilkinson Barker & Knauer LLP, ZTE USA
  • Connections Level: Jay Whitehurst and Sameer Vuyyuru of Comtech Telecommunications Corp., Crown Castle, Dale Hatfield, Andrea and Stephanie Joel, Mobilitie, MVP Capital, National Association of Tower Erectors (NATE), Wireless Infrastructure Association, Lawrence Movshin and Bryan Tramont of Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP
The September 2017 awards dinner will be held in San Francisco. To participate as a sponsor, contact Liz Maxfield at: [email protected].

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.